Rushton School Governors

Rushton School Governors

Any questions for the governors please contact them on -

The management of the school is carried out through a partnership between the Governing Body, the Head Teacher and the Education Service. The Headteacher and staff manage the school on a day-to-day basis within the policies made by the Governing Body under its strategic role.

The Governing Body has particular responsibility for:

  • All aspects of the Curriculum - all subjects including Literacy and Numeracy

  • The School Development/Improvement Plan - including recommendations from any OfSTED inspection

  • Setting targets for and monitoring school improvement

  • Staffing numbers and salaries, the appointment of the Headteacher and staff

  • The setting and management of the school budget

  • Care and maintenance of the premises, especially Health and Safety matters

  • Safeguarding

  • Pupil behaviour guidelines, and procedures for pupil exclusions


We are often in school so if you would like to ask a question or speak to one of us please just approach us or alternatively email or speak to Michelle (School Business Manager) and one of us will contact you.

Interested in becoming a governor?

We are always looking to build our skills across the governing body, so if you are interested in becoming a governor, please contact the school office or email using the governor email address.

Meet the Governors

Sharon Short

Chair of Governors

Emma Scott

Community Governor

Julie Chorlton

Community Governor

Caroline Dale

Community Governor

Emily Garvie

Community Governor

Katie Gill Carter

Parent Governor

In order that they can effectively support and monitor the school’s improvement, the governing body are split into committees. Through these committees and individual governor responsibilities, they can report back to the full governing body on their own progress and the progress of the school. They work from strategic documents, policies, terms of reference, role descriptions and academy guidelines in order that they can best represent the parents, pupils and staffs needs.  


For your information, members of the various committees are listed below:

  • Strategy Committee
    All of the governing body

  • Appeals Panel
    Emily Garvie, Will Ambery.

  • Interview Panel
    Sharon Short, Alison Willis, Jackie Beadsworth,          Michelle Johnston.

  • Safeguarding & Inclusion Committee
    Nichola Mohsen-Taheri, Emily Garvie, Will Ambery,
    Emma Payne, Julie Chorlton.

  • Pay & Performance Committee
    Sharon Short, Emma Scott, Caroline Dale.

  • Finance & Premises Committee
    Caroline Dale (chair), Sharon Short, Emily Garvie, Will Ambery, Emma Scott

  • Quality & Standards Committee
    Sharon Short, Julie Chorlton, Kate Gill-Carter, Emma Payne, Nichola Mohsen-Taheri

We release Governor updates on the newsletter but at any time, if you would like to know more, please contact a member of the team.

0250 PathfinderRGB72dpi.jpg

Will Ambery

Parent Governor

Emma Payne

Parent Governor

Nichola Mohsen-Taheri

Parent Governor

Michelle Johnston

Clerk of Governors

Alison Willis

Staff Governor

Jade Mobbs

Staff Governor

Jackie Beadsworth

Staff Governor

  • Facebook Social Icon

© Copyright 2017 -

Rushton Primary School.

Proudly created with


Tel: 01536 710124


Station Road, Rushton,
Nr Kettering,

Northamptonshire NN14 1RL